Winners of the 2016 Wood Awards Ireland are announced

The Wood Marketing Federation (WMF) announced the winners of 2016 Wood Awards at an awards ceremony in Farmleigh House, Phoenix Park, Dublin, presided over by Andrew Doyle, Minister of State with responsibility for forestry.

The Wood Awards Ireland judging panel was chaired by Ciarán O’Connor, the State Architect.This year’s Irish Wood Awards received over forty entries across various categories with eighteen projects shortlisted.  All projects were reviewed, and permanent structures were visited before a shortlist of seventeen awards was agreed by the panel.  The shortlist included large and small-scale buildings, conservation projects, furniture, innovative wood design, international structures and exhibitions – all demonstrating excellence in wood construction, design and craftsmanship.

 The juries selected an overall winner and six category winners as below.





Samuel Beckett Civic Campus

Ballyogan Rd., Dublin

Bucholz McEvoy Architects


Samuel Beckett Civic Campus

Ballyogan Rd., Dublin

Bucholz McEvoy Architects


Model School, National School, Inchicore

Donaghy + Dimond Architects


Range of furniture at OPTICA, Dawson Street, Dublin

Ryan Connolly, Connolly & Company


Magnus Celestii a temporary installation in Sculpture Park, Salisbury, England

Joseph Walsh Studio


Wind and Rain Bridge, Peitian Village, Liancheng, Fujian Province China

Don Holohan and woodworkers from Peitian area and architecture students, University of Hong Kong.



Carmelite Prayer Room, St. Teresa’s Church, Clarendon Street, Dublin

Niall McLoughlin Architects

Speaking about the quality and innovation of the 2016 Wood Award Ireland winners Ciarán O’Connor, the State Architect, said, “We were delighted to see such an extraordinary diverse range of projects entered into the 2016 Wood Awards Ireland – which showcases the best use of wood in architecture and design.  We sought out innovation in design and excellence in execution and we found it. 

[rev_slider Deltek]

“The Wood Awards like wood itself, is not singular or one dimensional.  There are many facets to this inherently sustainable materials from solid sections of hardwood and softwood along with engineered wood products. The projects explore the intrinsic physical properties of wood while also developing the inherent relationship between form, technology and the brief requirements of the client.  Wood has a rich and diverse history both to learn from and to learn about.  It requires respect and knowledge as well as art and science.  We would like to congratulate all of our very deserving wood artists, designers and architects.” 

The Wood Award Ireland sculptures were designed by Ireland’s foremost sculptor Michael Warren. The Wood Awards Ireland 2016 are organised by the Wood Marketing Federation and supported by the Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland (RIAI).  The project receives funding and sponsorship from COFORD in the Department of Agriculture, Food & Marine, AHEC (American Hardwood Export Council), Coillte, and Enterprise Ireland.  The WMF is a non-profit organisation founded in 1989 to promote wood and wood products sourced in sustainable managed forests.  WMF members include architects; engineers; designers; wood workers; State agencies; timber processors; timber preservation companies; researchers and educational bodies. 

The Judging Panel for the 2016 Wood Awards Ireland was:

Ciaran O’Connor, State Architect and chairman
Dr. Sandra O’Connell, RIAI
Simon O’Driscoll, Simon O’Driscoll Furniture
Des O’Toole, Coillte
Margaret Walsh, Mike Shanahan & Associates
Sean Harrington, Sean Harrington Architects
John Winslow, Donnelly Turpin Architects
Neil Kerrigan, Enterprise Ireland
Donal Magner, WMF

 For more information please visit