Calling all Construction Innovators! -Launch of 4th All Island Innovation Awards-

The search for the most innovative construction organisations across the island of Ireland has begun with the launch of the fourth annual Irish Times InterTradeIreland Innovation Awards. Last year, JFC Manufacturing Co Ltd, was shortlisted in the Product Innovation category, for their product, the Deluxe Cow Cubicle. JFC, in conjunction with dairy experts identified the conditions that contribute to maximum dairy performance and designed the Deluxe Cow Cubicle.

The Awards aim to recognise and promote the best innovations within organisations of all sectors and all sizes from North and South. The closing date for applications is Monday, December 3, 2012. For more information, visit 

The Minister for Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation, Mr. Richard Bruton TD, said: “Central to the Government’s plan for growth and jobs is to support the transition from the old, failed economy based on property and banking to a new, sustainable economy based on enterprise and innovation. We need more innovative companies starting-up, expanding, succeeding, and creating jobs, and by proper implementation of the Action Plan for Jobs I am confident we can achieve that. The Irish Times InterTradeIreland Innovation Awards have identified some excellent innovative businesses over recent years, and I commend all involved and wish them every success for the fourth installment.”

Speaking at the launch Michael McAleer, editor, Innovation, The Irish Times said, “Despite the economic downturn and many organisations cutting costs it is encouraging to see that Irish enterprises, North and South, are still innovating. We know from previous winners and the numerous submissions to these awards that organisations continue to invest in and demonstrate excellence in innovation across a diverse range of industry sectors. These awards are a great opportunity for organisations to showcase their leadership and creativity through innovation to their peers, competitors, customers and markets, giving them essential market advantages in growing their organisations. It is not a coincidence that countries such as Germany, the USA and Japan are the world’s top economies because their allocation of resources into creating innovation is massive. This year’s awards will again look for organisations right across Ireland’s business spectrum that can demonstrate leading product, service or operational innovations.”

Companies can enter in one of six categories in the 2013 Innovation Awards:


  • Agri-food innovation
  • Life sciences innovation
  • Greentech innovation
  • Business services innovation
  • Social innovation
  • Creative industries innovation.

Each category winner will secure a €10,000 Irish Times media deal and an I-pad. They will then compete to win the overall title of ‘Innovation of the Year’ which awards the winner with a communications and advertising package from The Irish Times worth €150,000. In addition, a UCD scholarship for an Executive Education programme commencing in 2014, a state of the art laptop and a consultancy package will also be provided.
Aidan Gough, Strategy and Policy Director, InterTradeIreland, said, “These awards are rightly considered the most illustrious innovation awards across the island of Ireland, identifying and highlighting the pioneering innovation work of organisations North and South. Innovation can help your organisation grow, allowing you to meet the demands of a changing marketplace, while improving productivity, reducing costs, building the value of your brand  and increasing turnover and profitability. I would encourage organisations from across the island to enter these awards and promote their innovative practices.”
The winners of the 2012 Innovation Awards were; X-Bolt Orthopaedics, Product Innovation; Waste Systems Ltd, Greentech Innovation; AMATECH, Organisational System or Process Innovation; Mayo County Council/Greenway, Public Service Innovation;, Service Innovation: Gabriel Scientific, Product Innovation and ‘Innovation of the Year’ award.
This year’s award applications will be scrutinised by an independent panel of judges from the world of academia, media and business. The judging panel includes: Liam Kavanagh, Managing Director, The Irish Times; Thomas Hunter McGowan, CEO, InterTradeIreland; Dr. Ivan Coulter, CEO and founder of biotech firm Sigmoid Pharma and previous winner; Dr. David Dobbin, CBE, Group Chief Executive, United Dairy Farmers; Helen Kirkpatrick, non-executive director with UTV Media plc. and Kingspan Group plc. and Corporate Finance Executive with Invest Northern Ireland; and Chris Horn, co-founder of Iona Technologies.
Sponsors for the 2013 All Island Innovation Awards include: Teagasc (Agri-food); Byrne Wallace (Greentech); Accenture (Social innovation); UCD (Creative Industries); Science Foundation Ireland (Life Sciences).

Pictured at the launch of the 2013 Innovation Awards are, from left to right:

Please insert name depending on image:

  • Matt Cooper, Today FM broadcaster and MC of the awards
  • Aidan Gough, InterTrade Ireland (Grey suit and coloured tie)
  • David Woolfson, Gabriel Scientific ( beard- winner from last year)